Community News Corporation | Byron, MN

Latest Dodge Center, MN, weather
weather sponsored by

Advanced Search

Community Links
Contact Us

home : sports : sports May 27, 2016

1/29/2013 12:34:00 PM
Mason Moreno and Isaac Wangen place first in Hayfield tournament
Mason Moreno takes down Thomas Bortvit of Estherville during his semifinal round of Hayfield’s Annual Wrestling Tournament.  Mason took first at 138 lbs.
+ click to enlarge
Mason Moreno takes down Thomas Bortvit of Estherville during his semifinal round of Hayfield’s Annual Wrestling Tournament.  Mason took first at 138 lbs.

By Mary Nelson

Hayfield held their Annual Wrestling Invitational Tournament on Saturday, January 19. The tournament usually hosts 10-14 teams each year but there were only six teams this year - GMLOK, Waseca, Estherville, LA/RP, and Medford. Hayfield's coaches are going to work on getting the tournament back up to 10-14 teams for next year. LA/RP won the tournament as a team with Estherville taking second. Hayfield had two first place finishers on the day - Isaac Wangen and Mason Moreno. Isaac Wangen (120) had a bye, then pinned Cole Budach (Esth) in 1:51. He won his championship match against Sam Riebel (LA/RP) by a fall in 3:30. Mason Moreno (138) also pinned his way to a first place finish starting with a fall in 1:47 against Thomas Bortvit (Esth). In the championship match he pinned Tristan Hoy (Was) in 2:47. Also wrestling for Hayfield and their results were:

(106) Cole Rasmussen (4th) - L 13-9 Maverick Jackson (LA/RP), bye, W 3:25 Easton Gifford (Esth), L :22 M Jackson (LA/RP)

(113) Morgan Moreno (3rd) - bye, L :42 Josh Doerr (LA/RP), bye, W 2:30 Joel McCoy (Esth)

(126) Cam Stadler (2nd) - round robin - L 8-0 Tyler Keller (Med), W 8-0 Justin Grindland (LA/RP)

(132) Christopher Johnson (5th) - L 4:35 Nick Masso (Med), bye, L 1:17 Jackson Kilian, bye in 5th place match

(145) Dylan Arndt (2nd) - round robin - W 3:37 Gabe Daley (LA/RP), L 3:48 Blake Gjerde (Esth)

(152) Connor Nelson (4th) -bye, L 11-1 Lucas Roe (GMLOK), bye, L 8-2 Billy Snyder (Esth)

(170) Jesus Fernandez (4th) - bye, L 2:51 Zach Gehloff (Was), bye, L 141 Trevor Grems (Med)

(220) Trey Chatman (6th) - L 1:01 Nick Puetz (LA/RP), bye, L :39 Chase Bonner (Esth).

David Erickson inducted two more members into the "Dave Erickson" Hayfield Wrestling Hall of Fame. They were former Hayfield wrestling coach Mark Voyce and former Hayfield wrestler Nick Severson. Nick was not able to be present to receive his award but Mark Voyce was in attendance. Congratulations to both of you.

Claremont Service

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Field Crest
Safeway Agency
Scanlon, Nietz, Murch
Dodge Center Chiropractic
Community News Corp • Byron Review, 507.775.6180,
Star Herald, 507.374.6531,

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved