Community News Corporation | Byron, MN

Latest Dodge Center, MN, weather
weather sponsored by

Advanced Search

• Other Legal Notices
• Public Notices
• Minutes
• Legals
• Foreclosures
• Assumed Names
The City Pages of West Concord
Local Business Directory
It's My Life by Emily Steffens
Kasson Garage Sales
Byron Garage Sales
Community Links
Contact Us

home : legals : other legal notices
July 19, 2018

7/5/2018 3:40:00 PM
BYRON School Board Minutes - May 21

ISD #531



Monday, May 21, 2018-6 p.m.

Site: DACS Board Room

Members present: Sharon Kreitinger, Faith Hollasch, Tessa Olive, Harvey Bergh, Chris Schmit, Matt Prigge, and Anna Lortscher, Student Council Representative. Members absent: Mark Chilson. Superintendent Dr. Joey Page was also present.

Pledge of Allegiance.

Approved agenda

Recognized Sara Bailey, Ethan Hoppenworth, Bryan Morris, Sara Johnson, Kayla Lehnertz, Jesse Brandt, Sarah Meier, Whitney Threinen, Holly Rolandson, and Darren Uetz for receiving continuing contract status

Janeen Eddie presented the Spotlight on Staff Award winners: Jeremy Baumbach- Middle School Math teacher; Elsie Behnken-Special Education Administrative Assistant; Shelley Hodge-Intermediate School 5th Grade teacher; Bonnie Prigge-Special Education Paraprofessional and Bus Driver.

Superintendent Dr. Joey Page congratulated employees who have attained 25 years of service in Byron Public Schools: Ruth Bailey-Holm; Becky Demmer; Beth Sherden; Rob Warneke

Approved consent agenda including: communications; Minutes: April 16, 2018, May 2, 2018, May 7, 2018; Bank Reconciliation and Budget Tracking report; General Fund checks and wires; donations from United Way, Harvey Bergh, BSN, Byron United Methodist Church, Pepsi, Wells Fargo; open enrollment; modified 2017-2018 school calendar with two less days due to full day emergency closings on January 11 and 23; approve continuing contract teachers-Sara Bailey, Ethan Hoppenworth, Bryan Morris, Sara Johnson, Kayla Lehnertz, Jesse Brandt, Sarah Meier, Whitney Threinen, Holly Rolandson, and Darren Uetz; Resignations- Denise Gifford, Nicole Johnson, Laura Hutton, Andrea Laning, Kim Pankratz, JT Walls, Jennifer Walsh; contracts for Jordan Boekhoff-HS Social Studies Teacher, Heather Zieman-Project Kids Preschool Lead, Ana Maria van der Laat-ECFE Coordin-ator, Kayla Kujak-Elementary Counselor, Cindy Wiest-Speech Language Pathologist, Nora Olson-English Language; Lane Changes for Katelyn Delaney, Amanda Heman, Tricia Hoffman, Tori Johnson, Darren Uetz and Stacy Warneke; terminate long-term substitute contracts for Joshua Lingen, Oana Broussard, Chris Hettinga; renewal of 2018-2019 Resolution for Membership in the Minnesota State High School League; Approve snow removal quote from DeCook Excavating for 2018-19 and 2019-20 school year.

The board recognized CyBears High School Robotics Team and students also shared a demonstration of their latest robot.

Alison Newman helped the board recognize two students who received the FFA State Degree, Paige Fode and Bailey McPhee.

Paige Fode discussed FFA and her State Degrees.

The board recognized State Speech participants Maddie Harris and Josiah Rutgers who took 7th place in the State Speech Competition.

Administrative Reports

Dr. Page thanked Jennifer for her dedicated work with Byron Schools. Chair Sharon Kreitinger humbly thanked Jennifer as well for all she does on a daily basis.

Donita Stepan and Jen Hegna provided the board with a Personalized Learning Report.

Superintendent Dr. Joey Page's report

Faith Hollasch ZED update

Harvey Bergh Byron City Council update

Reviewed commissioner's model plan for Lead in Water

Approved a wrestling coop with Lourdes

Approved new five-year contract with Pepsi

Approved Policy revisions

Revised job description for Director of Finance and Operations position

Approved lunch price increase

Approved final budget

Approved teacher Master Agreement 2017-18/2018-19.

Approved contract with School Management Services

Closed board meeting to discuss negotiation strategies at 8:10 p.m.

Chair Sharon Kreitinger reopened the meeting at 9:28 p.m.

Adjourned meeting at 9:29 p.m.

A complete copy of minutes can be found at

Claremont Service

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Field Crest
Safeway Agency
Dodge Center Chiropractic
Community News Corp • Byron Review, 507.322.6020,
Star Herald, 507.374.6531,

Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved